In 1886 the present building, originally located on the Black Oak Trail at old 99th Street, replaced a log cabin school. Now hikers enjoy country lanes once used by its student. In 1932 the school house was moved to Camp Kiwanis by a local resident, using only one mule and log rollers. Classes continued there until 1948. In 1952 it was moved to its present site, and in 1955 reopened as a unique, new kind of school. In place of the three R’s, fascinating stories are told to children and grown-ups who visit here, stories about forest preserve plants and animals and the earth of which they live.
Visitors can enjoy live animals and exhibits, children’s activity room, and more joined the old school.
NOTE: The Schoolhouse Building is closed for renovations in Spring 2013; call to find out if it has opened again.