The Elmhurst History Museum is an award-winning regional history museum founded in 1957 and operated by the City of Elmhurst. The museum engages people with history through its extensive collection and archives, enlightening exhibits, and diverse educational experiences. The Elmhurst History Museum is located in a historically significant landmark known as the Glos Mansion, the former home of Elmhurst’s first village president, Henry Glos, and his wife, Lucy that was built c. 1892. The Museum connects people with history by presenting an eclectic mix of changing exhibits on a broad range of history-related topics, an engaging interactive exhibit on Elmhurst’s own history, plus a wide array of public programs, exhibit tours, school and scout programs, and special community events. The Elmhurst History Museum also operates the Churchville Schoolhouse, a restored National Register of Historic Places property located on Church Road in Bensenville. The Churchville Schoolhouse was built c. 1850 and is one of the only remaining one-room schoolhouses on its original site, and provides schoolchildren and other groups with an authentic living history experience led by an old-fashioned schoolmarm from the early 1900s (by appointment only).